The University of South Florida System consists of three separately accredited institutions – USF Tampa, USF St. Petersburg, and USF Sarasota-Manatee. Each Institution has unique policies as well as unique degree and residency requirements.

To help ensure that students are on track to graduate and are less likely to have excess credit hours, students are required to apply if they choose to change their USF home institution. Procedures may be found by visiting The request to change institutions must be signed off by the student and approved by the incoming USF institution.

All first time in college students (FTIC) students must have completed at least three consecutive semesters, not including summer (i.e., fall, spring, fall), at their current institution before change of institution requests will be processed.